Escondido

Last Saturday when I was trying to figure out what to do with the kids, I learned about an event at Nordstrom in the mall in Escondido that I knew The Girl would want to see.  Hello Kitty was making an appearance in the kids shoe department.  Since I’m always on the look-out for kids shoes for The Boy (since nothing fits the kid’s fat feet) I thought I would take them to see Hello Kitty and then make my way to Safari Park.

Although even Nordstrom didn’t have shoes to fit, we did have a successful day.

Things I love about Safari Park:

There is so much open space.

In many places, I feel like I’m really a part of the environment with dirt paths, hills and all.

There are catfish in the pond with the ducks and it’s worth the 50 cents to feed them so that you can watch the ducks peck the catfish.

Big horn sheep come right up to the fence to check you out.

There are still cool things to play with and in.

The elephants.  There are so many!  But The Boy just wants to visit the elephants so that he can play with this sculpture.  He would stay there all day if I let him.

And I love this bird.

We spent the majority of our day walking.  Luckily I was smart enough to take the double stroller, even though most of the time I was only pushing one kid.  It was totally worth it for the times I needed it for both.  We walked the WHOLE ENTIRE park.  I kid you not.  Every trail that could be walked (except the garden trail) was walked.  By me.  That’s a lot of walking.  And I didn’t have a stroller to sit in!  We had a great time, but I sure was tired by the end of the day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Zoo

Leave a Reply

