Pacific Southwest Railway Museum

It’s been a while.  A long while.  It’s kind of ironic, because we have been busy doing stuff.  I just haven’t been busy blogging about the stuff we’re doing.  Obviously.  But I have a new resolution.  I’m going to come here and blog once a week.  I guess that means I have to do something once a week.  It will be good for us.

A while ago, I saw a Groupon for the Pacific Southwest Railway Museum in Campo.  I bought it thinking it would be a fun outing some day.  Yesterday was the day.  They have a train that runs on Saturdays and Sundays.  It goes from Campo to the international tunnel and back to Campo.  It’s 10 miles round trip and takes about an hour or so.  The kids loved it.  They got a little tired on the way back, but it was really fun.  The engineer talked to us about the history of the rail line in that particular area.  It was quite interesting.  I won’t tell you all about it here, mostly because I’m really bad at remembering things and I’ll probably get details wrong.  Just know that it was fun and a great way to learn some history.  If you’re interested in checking it out, Groupon has the deal again right now!  I might just have to snatch it up again.

IMG_2551

Mexico bound!

Mexico bound!

IMG_2530

The end of this tunnel is Mexico.

IMG_2542

This is the real deal. Some of the trains on display at the museum haven’t really been restored. There are still spices and things in those jars!

IMG_2525

I think it’s funny how similar the “go” and the “do not go this way” signs are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Activities, Museum

Leave a comment